News Detail

Winter Athletics Awards Announced

On March 23, winter athletics teams gathered to celebrate the end of the season. Varsity teams gathered in Laird Dining Hall for the annual Winter Banquet. Senior Hannah Boone, who is playing basketball at Trinity College next year, gave the opening remarks, alongside senior John Loughlin, who has committed to the men’s basketball team at Washington & Lee University. “This winter season was unlike any other,” Boone told the audience. “And there will never be another one like it. Covid tests, the spread of Omicron, limited fans, and multiple cancellations all greatly impacted our winter season. But that didn’t stop any of you from showing up every day ready to work hard. On the court, the track, the mat, or the climbing wall, each of you persevered past multiple layers of adversity and adapted to difficult obstacles… And that is a victory in and of itself.”
Highlights from the season include:
  • Max Yang ’25 and Taylor Chambers ’23 were recognized as athletes of the month by the Alexandria Sportsman’s Club.
  • Boys’ climbing won the WAICL Championship, while girls’ climbing took second place.
  • Boys’ basketball shared the IAC regular season co-champions title.
Congratulations to the below award recipients and to all athletes for another great season on The Holy Hill.

Boys’ Varsity Basketball
William Caskie Watts ’35 Most Valuable Player: John Loughlin ’22
Most Important Player: Will Hurst ’23
Coach's Award: Samir McElroy ’22

Girls’ Varsity Basketball
Most Valuable Player: Ava Sawi ’24
Most Important Player: Sanaa Baldwin ’25
Coach’s Award: Hannah Boone ’22
Boys’ Varsity Squash
William Deal Waxter Jr. Most Valuable Player: Hansen Ogden ’22
Most Important Player: Thomas Peacock ’22
Coach's Award: Davis Alley ’22

Girls’ Junior Varsity Squash
Most Valuable Player: Hope Fireison ’25
Most Important Player: Maisie Halloran ’25
Coach's Award: Wynne Boggan ’23
Girls’ Varsity Squash
Theodore S. Faunce Most Valuable Player: Mary Schroeder ’23
Most Important Player: Isabella Custard ’22
Coach's Award: Madalein Amoako ’22
Boys’ Varsity Wrestling
Charles Morton Stewart III ’52 Most Valuable Player: Nick Carosi ’22
Most Important Player: Henry Sensoy ’24
Coach's Award: Walter Blessing ’23
Boys’ JV Track & Field
Most Valuable Player: Jonathan Beane ’24
Most Improved: Kane McMillan ’24
Boys’ Varsity Track & Field
Reid Nickle ’11 Most Valuable Player: Jason Abraham ’24
Most Important Player: Jack Dupuis ’23
Coach's Award: Anderson Patry ’23

Boys’ Junior Basketball
Most Valuable Player: Devon Debes ’25
Most Important Player: Duke Shackelford ’25
Coach's Award: Jack Bonello ’25
Boys’ JV Basketball
Most Valuable Player: Bryson Carter ’25
Most Important Player: Natheer Muwonge ’24 
Coach's Award: Claude Morris ’23

Girls’ JV Basketball
Most Valuable Player: Sophia Appiah ’25
Most Important Player: Emma Pan ’25

Boys’ JV Squash
Most Valuable Player: Carson Dod ’23
Most Important Player: Daniel McLaughlin ’23
Coach's Award: Shaan Vyas ’24
Girls’ JV Track & Field
Most Valuable Player: Daisy Ouma ’25
Most Important Player: Summer Sterling ’24

Girls’ Varsity Track & Field
Most Valuable Player: Taylor Chambers ’23
Most Important Player: Sophia Maglio ’25
Coach's Award: Audrey Dearlove ’23
Boys’ Climbing
Most Valuable Player: Max Yang ’25
Most Important Player: Bryan Chen ’24
Coach's Award: Peter Malcolm ’24