The Arts
The Arts at EHS

Celebrating a Memorable Fall Athletics Season

The 2023 Fall Varsity Sports Banquet marked more than the conclusion of a season; it also served as a collective round of applause for the sportsmanship, tenacity, and dedication our fall athletes displayed this season. Elias Homer ’24, member of the boys’ varsity soccer team, opened the evening by expressing his admiration for Episcopal. “A big part of our experience at Episcopal is to watch our classmates and friends succeed,” he told the crowd of varsity athletes and coaches. “Representing EHS allows us to write our own stories and play for the rich legacy of those who played before us, for the name we bear on our chests, for the teammates we share the field with, and for the people in our hearts.”

Highlights from the season include: 
  • The Maroon won their first Seminary Hill Cup since 2016;
  • girls’ soccer collected their first ISL A Division regular-season and tournament titles;
  • girls’ tennis made it to the semifinals of the ​​ISL AA Tournament;
  • varsity football finished 7-2, capturing a share of the IAC title for the second year in a row; and
  • girls’ cross country finished top eight in the state championship.
Congratulations to the below award recipients and all athletes for another great season on The Holy Hill.

Varsity Football

Moncure Award for Most Valuable Player: Cedric Benning ’24 
Mark Gowin Most Improved Player: Martin Gil de Montes ’25
John Strubing ’93 Coaches Award: Malik Johnson ’24
Alexander Spotswood ’60 Award: Brice Ebaneth ’24
Winniett Peters Award: Luca Farinaccio ’24

Boys’ Varsity Soccer
Peyton S. Hawes III Award Most Valuable Player: Olive Schroeder ’24
Most Improved Player: Hart Sands ’26
Coaches Award: Elias Homer ’24

Girls’ Varsity Soccer
John J. and Mary Turner Tilman Corson Award for Most Valuable Player: Lane Smith ’24 
Most Improved Player: KK Gottfrid ’26
Coaches Award: Sophia Maglio ’25

Boys’ Cross Country
Parker Reed Carr ’69 Award for Most Valuable Runner: Wyatt Moore ’24
Most Improved Runner: Caleb Poston ’26
Joe Halm Coaches Award: Elliot Kim ’24

Girls’ Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner: Margaret Hodges ’27
Most Improved Player: Lucinda Cahan ’26 
Joe Halm Coaches Award: Natanim Bekele ’25

Girls’ Varsity Tennis
Most Valuable Player: Campbell Shelby ’25
Most Improved Player: Katharine Morrison ’27
Coaches Award: Dillon Stallings ’24

Girls’ Varsity Field Hockey
Ruth K. Rainey for Most Valuable Player: Gracie Buxton ’26
Most Improved Player: Symphany James ’26
Coaches Award: Lucy Nolan ’25 

Girls’ Varsity Volleyball
Most Valuable Player: Jonesie Matthews ’25 
Most Improved Player: Alexa Billo ’25 
Coaches Award: Nellie Miller ’25

Boys’ Fall Crew
Most Valuable Player: Fox Parker ’26 
Most Improved Player: Luke Davila ’24
Coaches Award: Marshall Ragsdale ’24

Boys’ JV Football
Most Valuable Player: Levi Babin ’27
Most Improved Player: Roberto Bloodworth ’27 and Ryan Galleher ’27
Coaches Award: Derek Spears ’27

Boys’ JV Soccer
Most Valuable Player: Max Niven ’25
Most Improved Player: Nathaniel Familua ’26
Coaches Award: Yun-Lung Kuo ’27

Girls’ JV Soccer
Most Valuable Player: Serena Muthaiah ’27
Most Improved Player: Claire Braxton ’26
Coaches Award: Sims Wetherbee ’26

Girls’ JV Tennis
Most Valuable Player: Mary Handly Templeton-Phillips ’27 
Most Improved Player: Lillemor Ashford ’27
Coaches Award: Mary Catherine Dreese ’27

Girls’ JV Field Hockey
Most Valuable Player: Sharon Tak ’27
Most Improved Player: Emma Blue Sinclair ’27
Coaches Award: Annie Carr ’25

Boys’ Novice Fall Crew
Most Valuable Player: Will McCollum ’26
Most Improved Player: Brody Merkel ’27
Coaches Award: Matthew Wilson ’27