Spring Athletics Celebrates End of Season at Annual Awards Banquet

The spring sports athletics banquet concluded a memorable season for Episcopal. Senior Wynne Boggan, who is playing girls’ lacrosse at the University of Chicago next year, gave the opening remarks alongside Claude Morris ’23. “The spirit of this campus revolves around our athletics,” Boggan told the audience. “At 3:30 p.m. crowds of students hit the weight room, athletes congregate in the training room, and gray issue shirts are donned throughout Hershey Athletics Center. Ensure you always keep the Episcopal energy no matter where life takes you after The High School.”

Highlights from the season include:
  • Boys' Lacrosse finished as runner-up to the 2023 VISAA State Championship.
  • Girls’ Lacrosse completed a historic back-to-back ISL championship run with a 14-2 victory over Flint Hill.
  • Track & Field triumphed as the girls’ 4x100m state champion.
  • Six student-athletes were awarded Alexandria Sportsman’s Club “Athlete of the Year” Honors in their respective sports were: Buom Jock ’23, Football; Mary Schroeder ’23, Girls’ Squash; Tilford Griggs ’25, Boys’ Squash; Caulley Deringer ’23, Boys’ Lacrosse; Max Yang ’25, Climbing; Carson Cowburn ’26, Boys’ Cross-Country.
  • Boys’ Lacrosse Coach Scott Conklin was named Coach of the Year by the Alexandria Sportsman’s Club.
  • Caulley Deringer ’23 was named the 2023 VISAA Division I Boys’ Lacrosse Player of the Year and a USA Lacrosse Academic-All American.
Congratulations to the below award recipients and all athletes for another great season on The Holy Hill. Way to go, Maroon!

Boys' Varsity Baseball
Miller Most Valuable Player Award: Nathan DeWitte ’23
Most Improved Player: Thomas Sigler ’26
Coaches' Award: Luke Davila ’24

Girls' Varsity Lacrosse
Tyler Most Valuable Player Award for Girls' Lacrosse: Wynne Boggan ’23
Most Improved Player Award: McAulay Vaughan ’26
Coaches' Award: Logan Conklin ’23

Girls' Varsity Softball
Nancy Walker ’11 Most Valuable Player Award for Girls' Softball: Patricia Okwueze ’23
Most Improved Player Award: Racquel Campbell ’25
Coaches' Award: Banks Krause ’23

Girls' Varsity Tennis
Most Valuable Player Award for Girls' Tennis: Dasha Krasovskaya ’32
Most Improved Player Award: Jonesie Matthews ’25
Coaches' Award: Virginia Keen ’23

Girls' Varsity Track & Field
Caroline Elizabeth Anderson '97 Most Valuable Player Award: Sophia Appiah ’25
Most Improved Award: Charlotte Matiunas ’25
Coaches' Award: Ava Reese ’25

Boys’ Golf
William W. Boothe '43 Most Valuable Player Award: Chad Schmachtenberger ’25
Most Improved Player Award: Henry Teeters ’23
Gary Lyn Hadwin Jr ’99 Coach’s Award: Steven Lilly ’23

Girls’ Golf
Most Valuable Player: Isobel Kennedy ’25
Most Improved Player: Katelyn Bensky ’24
Coaches’ Award: Emily Pham ’24
Girls' Junior Varsity Lacrosse
Most Valuable Player: Joely Gendell ’25
Most Improved Player: Palmer Grace Snead ’24
Coaches’ Award: Lola Mason ’25
Boys' Junior Varsity Tennis
Most Valuable Player: Thomas Wood ’24
Most Improved Player: Joe Lee ’26
Coaches’ Award: Joe Lee ’26
Ultimate Frisbee
Most Valuable Player: Shane Loring ’24
Most Improved Player: Elliot Kim ’24
Coaches’ Award: Connie Lu ’23

Girls' Crew
Most Valuable Player Award for Girls' Crew: Kristel Castellanos ’23
Most Improved Player Award: Selah McCray ’25
Coaches' Award: Cindy Luo ’25

Boys' Varsity Lacrosse
Joseph B. Shelor '52 Most Valuable Player Award: Patrick Jameison ’23
Most Improved Player Award: Carson Cowburn ’26
Coaches' Award: Jack Dupuis ’23

Boys' Varsity Tennis
George Edmund Bradfield Most Valuable Player Award: Claude Morris ’23
Most Improved Player Award: Tad Tan ’23
Coaches' Award: William Custard ’24

Boys' Varsity Track & Field
Beaudric L. Howell Most Valuable Player Award: Kofi Igyan ’23
Most Improved Award: Thomas Smith ’25
Coaches' Award: CJ Johnson ’23
Cathcart Scholarship/Tompkins Cup: Emily Garrard ’24
Robert Train '32-Menard Doswell '31 Award: Anderson Patry ’23

Girls’ Novice Crew
Most Valuable Player: Zoe Williams ’25
Most Improved Player: Lucinda Cahan ’26
Coaches’ Award: Amaya Kim-Senior ’26