The 1972 Lacrosse Team

The only undefeated and untied lacrosse team in EHS history, the 1972 lacrosse team ended its season with a 12-0 record, a scoring average of 10 goals per game, and having only allowed an average of three goals per game.
Kin Nevitt ’73 (EHS Hall of Fame 1993), team co-captain and attackman, set a school record with 34 goals and was named regional All-American by the U.S. Lacrosse Coaches Association. Attackman Scotty Farrar ’72 set a school record with 50 total points with 21 goals and 29 assists. Charlie Bagley ’72, co-captain and goalie, also set a school record with 141 saves.
The season was highlighted by two wins against Woodberry and the 12-6 defeat of perennial lacrosse powerhouse St. Mary’s of Annapolis. Co-captain Kin Nevitt attributes the team’s strength and success to Coach Joe Shelor.
“It started with Joe,” said Mr. Nevitt. “He drove the athletes. He was a no nonsense guy who no one would question. He brought football players and a core group of athletes together to create the best team in the state.”
The 1972 Lacrosse Team members were:
A. Bahlmann Abbot III ’72
H. Heath Alexander ’72
Charles Bagley IV ’72
William H. Bell III ’72
Edwin Nash Broyles ’73
Anthony Ray Chase ’73
Charles Bell Compton, Jr. ’73
Alexander Nicholson Conner ’72
Duval Scott Farrar ’72
Robert MacGregor Harryman ’73
William Fairfax Herbert ’73
James Farrier Hobson ’72
Frederick Arthur Lupton III ’72
Joseph T. Mason ’72
Marshall Trammell Mays, Jr. ’73
Henry Mann Montague ’72
Henry Sayler Morgan ’73
Robert Erskine Nevitt ’73
Louis L. P. Prichard ’72
C. Thomas C. Russe ’72
Charles Henry Schutte ’73
Coach Joseph Badger Shelor ’52
Charles William Swinford, Jr. ’72
Coach John M. Walker, Jr.
Robert Alan Wilson, Jr. ’72