The 1953 Football Team

Episcopal’s 1953 football team ended its season with an undefeated record (9-0) and 234 points scored, giving up just 56 points for the season, making EHS the only unbeaten and untied team in the greater Washington, D.C., area. Co-Alternate Captain John Burress ’54 set School rushing records, with 164 carries and 1,048 yards gained. Captain Fletcher Carter ’54 (EHS Hall of Fame 2005) missed two games due to injury, but he still earned 719 yards on 101 carries for a season average of 7.1 yards per carry. Nelson Weston ’54 (EHS Hall of Fame 2011) led Episcopal’s defense with 80 tackles, as well as playing guard on the offense. Carter, Burress, Weston, Rob Wilson ’54, and Jay Walker ’54 earned First Team All-Prep honors. EHS also was the only team in the greater Washington, D.C., area to have more than one player earn All-Met honors, which were awarded to Carter, Burress, and Weston.
The 1953 team was coached by Lee McLaughlin (EHS Hall of Fame 2005). He was assisted by Syd Walden and Jim Taylor.